Response to your comments


Sorry I haven’t replied to any comments – barely been time to breathe…things should get lighter soon.

In response to the latest from Rachel:

re:  my schedule

Initially, I was supposed to have two weeks prior to school starting to leisurely begin my birth family search.  Due to the mis-communication with my job recruiter and my school, my school duties began straight away, dovetailed in with my birth family search, leaving me practically zero down time.  Instead of two weeks spent at the Koroot adoptee guest house, I was moved into my apartment on the third day.

School here goes year-round and is split into two semesters.  (and two teacher hiring cycles)  Right now is winter break, and school starts again March 2nd.  Prior to school starting are school teacher functions, a cultural orientation I must attend, and in April a week long new teacher orientation.

My pre-interview at the KBS tv station was today, which I will post about.  Pre interviews are on Mondays.  The live broadcasts are on Fridays.  They could call me anytime for any broadcast any Friday during the upcoming year.  The TV show is a show specifically about finding lost loved ones.  It’s not specifically for adoptees, but they are often featured on it.  It has a high success rate, as almost a million people tune into it.  It is the last hope for those of us with little or no records.

Mandu is the Korean equivalent of gyoza or potstickers:  basically dumplings made of wrappers around a filling.  Unlike gyoza or potstickers, Korean mandu have a huge variety of fillings – from kimchee to mashed potatoes to mushrooms to the usual meat fillings.  They are also added to soup, which is called chiggae.

More on menus and stuff in the next post…

I haven’t seen any schoolgirls in uniform yet, since it is break time, so I don’t know how short the skirts are!  In Thailand, the skirts were very long – until the girls reached college age (yes, they have to wear uniforms to college!) then the skirts ran the whole gamet of styles and length, but predominantly micro-mini – it didn’t matter as long as the skirt was the right color.  From what I’ve seen on Kdramas, though, the skirts here are pretty uniform in looks and length, and not short.

OK!  On to some more observations about Korea, and then the KBS pre-interview.

Leave a Reply

