Why we do what we do


I posted this elsewhere before, but this one has great English subtitles.  There has been a little response to the criticisms in this documentary, such as the quota to make intercountry adoptions equal domestic adoptions, but all the situations in this documentary still occur to this day.

It’s a terrible situation here in Korea, and adoptees are on the front lines pushing the government to DO THE RIGHT THING.  These things are all a no-brainer for everyone abroad and most people in Korea.  Korea still has a lot to learn about transparency and backroom deals and good ol’ boy networks are the order of the day.  One has to ask why these practices continue, and the only explanations I can think of are that rationalizations have become second nature to the perpetrators, and loss of job and profit motivate them to perpetuate these crimes.

Not crimes in the legal sense, but crimes against what should be our inalienable basic human rights as people.

2 thoughts on “Why we do what we do

  1. once again thanks for posting a video to keep me busy at work with…

    but, wow. i had no idea that there wasnt a waiting period before the birth mother relinquishes the baby. thats bananas!

    but i think we’re strolling around hwaseong fortress this saturday night. it supposed to look really cool at night when the lights are all on an stuff. and apparently its a big date spot! lots of korean couples wearing matchy-matchy outfits sitting on the grass eating chicken! im really excited! let me know if youre interested though!

  2. Yeah. The so-called BETTER agencies wait until the day of or at most a couple days. But in-utero relinquishment still goes on here, and it’s perfectly legal. Then they whisk them away to foster homes to wait out the minimum statute before they can leave the country.

    Korea is famous for having healthy babies, but it’s not famous for its unethical ways of procuring them.

    The first story is extreme, but you can believe it happened. I really feel for her, too. I had a C-section, and when I went into post-op recovery, I was dizzy and could barely talk and then I threw up. I can imagine anyone sticking some paper in my face and I would have signed whatever it was to get them to leave me alone and I wouldn’t have known what the hell I was signing. And it’s also true that the worst part about a C-section is not getting to see your child be born or to see it. So if you NEVER got to see it, you’d just go mad with grief.

    Hwaseong sounds so nice! But I SUCK. I’m so sorry. I kind of made a sort of date Saturday. Korean style, with lots of chaperones around. Maybe I can convince him to go after dinner, but I doubt it, since we’ll be up near Insadong. I totally forgot. I’m s-o-r-r-y!!! But Hey – it’s a date…I think it might have to be in sign language, though, since neither of us can speak each other’s language…

    Oh, and if you want something else to read/listen to, there’s a new link I put in over at http://holtsurvivor.wordpress.com It’s a radio segment on Talk of the Nation from last year on international adopees and how their searches are more difficult, and also a NY Times special edition blog about international adoption with contributions by adoptees and their parents.

Leave a Reply

