So it’s official


I’m moving out of this bank vault and into a real neighborhood!  Away from Bellevue!  Which was making me INSANE!  Yayy!!!  The real estate agent was a pushover about taking less key money down and more rent per month.  Actually, it turns out that it is the buyer who pays the commission, so he kept working the owner to both take less key money AND keep the monthly rent low.  So I got a very good deal because, it seems, everything in Korea is negotiable.

Seems he stole me as a client and that would sour relations between him and his other real estate friend.  BUT, even though the other guy was nicer, he just didn’t have any good listings.  I told him I’d call him, but then forgot I don’t speak Korean…he probably thinks I’m a jerk now…

Getting my own place, independent of the schools turns out to be more of a commitment than I thought.  I’ll have to get a refrigerator and a washing machine, pots and pans and dishes, a mattress to sleep on, a table to sit at, and some book-shelves and at least a clothes rack if not a wardrobe.  I mean, all those things can be gotten cheap and sold – but it’s still a commitment.  Because of course I want my home to be nice and not look like a drop-off for someone else’s trash.   And then I’ll fall in love with my stuff.  But it’s also kind of exciting, because I love to hunt for the best finds.  But that’s also kind of daunting, because shopping in Seoul is like shopping in Manhattan – that could really wear a person out.

Looking around for things I’ll eventually need I found this:

A Salvation Army in Seoul!

In a couple of months I’ll have to part with all of my school-owned small appliances (don’t watch tv much, don’t use the microwave) and have to purchase some items.  I might just have to wash clothes by hand, since I didn’t see room for a washing machine anywhere, and I’ll have to buy or rent a refrigerator.  But a rice cooker?  SALLY’S!  AND, the proceeds go to rehab centers.  So they have a store and a coffee shop in Mapo.  Sounds like a wonderful way to spend a Saturday.  Yayy!

Also, some other second hand stores:

Yayy!  Who wants to line Emarte’s pockets any more?  Not I!

T-recycle co.

and

Recycle City

Really, I have no idea how one goes about moving here.  I’ve watched the movers move other people out of my officetel, and the movers – instead of using cardboard boxes like in America, use plastic self-closing storage bins.  MUCH sturdier, easier to cart around, and re-usable.  The question is, do they let the person moving hold onto the bins long enough to take their belongs out and organize them?  And what about in my situation, where I’ve got nothing to put my clothing into?  How should I prepare the clothes for moving, if not in boxes?  I don’t want to buy plastic bins that I’m not going to use again…

And really, since I am paying rent for three months that I could have been paying nothing, I really can’t afford many household items until March.  Maybe I’ll just carry one thing each evening, as I will be commuting sometime between December and February, and in this way s-l-o-w-l-y empty out my apartment.  What a funny sight I’d be to the regulars on the subway!  What a pain during the train transfer.

Yayy!  No more gaudy fuscia and gold bedspread!  No more mattress that’s like a box spring resting on plastic cones that I can’t sweep around!  No more audio announcements invading my apartment!  No more strange people knocking at my door!  No more eerie walks down long empty corridors just to get to my bank vault!  I’ll have a bedroom with a door!  No more delivery ads cluttering up my door!  Oh, the list can go on and on…

Also official is I was forced to let my school know I won’t be renewing my contract next year, since my new recruiter was forced to contact them to confirm my employment (sheesh – no way to even test the waters in this place)  So that was kind of a bummer.  The vice principal wrote nice things about me and In Kyung gave me a good recommendation and part of me is sad I’m leaving.  I only hope my new assignment won’t be terribly far away from where I live, as Seoul is a very very very big city.

One thought on “So it’s official

  1. Well Seoul, does have a Salvation Army store. It is a Christain bookstore.
    In Seoul(Itaewon in paticuluar) They do have used appliance stores. I can think of one that is right across the street from the 8th Army base. They will deliver for a fee too.
    Near the Elementary School I used to teach at in Mia Samgerori, there was alos a used appliance store. So they are all over. I have neve seen a used clothing store though, so don’t ask me about those!

Leave a Reply

