temporary overload


Prior to summer vacation I’d mentioned to the proactive teacher that the evening conversation class with students kept me from being so lonely at the last school and that maybe that would be a good idea here.

When I got back to school, she informed me that there was money in the budget to buy teacher’s aids and that she’d talked to the principal and the students and that I could have an evening class.  Yayy!

But then the next day she informs me that the principle wants a low level class AND an intermediate class.  Okay.  I don’t know how I’m going to conduct a low level conversation class, but I’ll try.

Then a few days later, she informs me that the principle doesn’t feel once a week is enough and that I should have it twice a week.  I should have monitored myself better, but I just went with it instead of listening to the warning bells going off in my head.  Living in this society turns a person into a child again.  It turns you either into a pushover or someone on the rampage…

And the worst part is, that unlike in the last school where my class was at the beginning of after-school classes, these ones are at the end.  So that means I am now at school from 8 a.m. to 9:30 pm twice a week.  And I already stay 2 hours late, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. so I can eat the inexpensive and balanced dinners at the school.

On top of that I’d signed up for a gayageum (12 stringed Korean zither) class for foreigners every Saturday.  Which is great and all, but not exactly a hobbyist instrument, as it’s huge, super-expensive to own, and not portable.  And is not great because it’s in Gangnam, which is a really inconvenient commute.  On the plus side I’ll get to interact (and speak in English!) socially with some foreigners who aren’t just party animals.  Since the class only costs $30 I suppose I can easily drop it if it gets to be too much.

So I’ve gone and over-scheduled myself again.  Really, all I want to do is work on my projects.  I think the first thing we’ll see neglected is this blog.  I’m just hoping I can keep on top of the laundry and basic hygiene…

Leave a Reply

